English and Composition Subject Guide: Home

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

Looking for a good book, but not sure where to start? Books & Authors explores today’s popular fiction and non-fiction titles as well as the classics of yesterday. Includes author biographies; book reviews for print, audio book, ebook, and Braille-format, and recommended reading lists. 

Films on Demand is a database of over 23,000 films and 240,000 film segments from producers such as BBC, TED, A&E, PBS, History Channel, NBC News, and hundreds more! Search this database for films to use in your class presentations, research projects, or to embed in online Moodle courses.

Gale Literary Sources provides biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 150,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Gale Literary Sources provides combined access to the Literature Resource Center, LitFinder Database, Scribner Writer Series, and Twayne's Authors Series.

JSTOR provides access to academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

Are you seeing a security or privacy error message when you try to access a database off-campus? Follow these instructions.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, and infographics that help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.

The Oxford English Dictionary is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is the most comprehensive record of the English language in the world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from those of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find these in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through more than 3 million quotations.